My parents are snow-birding in lovely Ft. Myers Beach for the winter so my husband and I drive down to the farm one day a week to check on the place and take care of the cat. Josh loves that cat. Sunday, we were debating on whether or not to go because I'd been feeling a bit peckish (read: whiny and bitchy). I mean, I felt like garbage: tightness in my chest, shortness of breath, headache, sore back and shoulders. I'd been to urgent care the weekend before and had some pain-killers left over so I popped a couple of those and we headed to Attica. (Huge smiting with a pointy stick is in order to the people at St. Elizabeth East who tried, in vain, to make me die)
Needless to say, a 45 minute car ride was not a good idea and by the time we were returning I told Josh to swing by our house so I could change my clothes. I wanted to go back to urgent care (a proper medical facility, Clarion-Arnett); I was in a world of hurt. I didn't figure it would be too busy since the "Big Game" was starting in less than two hours. And I was right. We walked through the ER doors and the tumbleweeds were tumbling and the crickets were chirping.
Now, I hate how the hospital front desk employees make you stand over an impossibly low counter while acquiring your entire medical history. There's no chair and the counter is too low for me to lean on without looking like I'm posing for
Playboy. So I just huff the magic words, "chest" pant pant "pains" pant. I'm instantly whisked away in a magical wheelchair that I didn't even see coming and before I can say boo, I'm in a room with roughly seven medical professionals ripping off my clothes and sticking little squares to my naked flesh.
I have a 12 point heart monitor (EEG)complete with 12 wires connected to me on my left hand side. I have a BP cuff on my right arm, pulse monitor on my right index finger, and an IV slammed into the back of my right hand (which is ouchy because the loop on the tube was too long and I kept bumping it). Oh, and an O2 hose shoved up my nose. They draw blood, run tests, pull my X-rays from last week's visit, give me a CT scan and some other stuff I don't really remember because by now they've given me Valium to calm my crazy ass down. Have I mentioned I'm prone to panic attacks?
A couple hours of this go by and one of the members of Team Eileen comes in to tell me that the Doc is on his way and will be in shortly and would I like the remote to the TV to take my mind off the pain. Well, hell yes I want that remote. Sweet. I turn on the "Big Game" just in time to see Agculara piss the National Anthem down her leg. Lovely.
The Doc comes in a few minute later to tell me I have fluid in the lining of my heart, that my lungs are operating on about 30% capacity because they're filled with fluid too. I have a lot of fluid, so he says. Lots and lots of fluid. In short, I am a very sick chick and have earned myself a night or two in the Acute Care Unit on the Cardiac floor (with the best possible care our Purdue insurance won't fully pay for). Of course, I react the same way as I always do when I get terribly bad news; I burst into tears. I'm then told it's going to be about an hour or two before my room is ready (what is this, a hotel?) so Team Eileen continues to treat me as I won't officially be admitted and handed over to the cardiac docs until my room is ready (no problem, these folks rock). The game is on but I'm not watching. I'm too busy sniveling, reeling in pain and struggling to breath despite the oxygen boost. Also, I am scarred. Really really scarred.
One of the nurses hands my husband a folder that looks like something you would get at a business proposal. It's all fancy and laminated. Josh tells me that it's my welcome packet. Welcome packet? What is this, a hotel? He starts reading me little tidbits of information like visiting hours (there are no restricted visiting hours, just quiet time after 8pm), how the phones work (dial 9, derp), who to call for fresh towels and room service. Room service? Fresh towels? Hotel much? I ask Josh (jokingly) if there's free Wi-fi in every room and he assures me: there is. It's halftime (and morphine time thanks to my new bestie, Nurse Whatshername) and while very sparkly and shiny (I love my morphine shinys) the sound is just awful. The mic's aren't coming on when they're supposed to and the echo is stomping all over the Black Eyed Peas. Lousy reverberation factor! Poor Peas.
A new nurse comes in and tells us we're going to cardiac now, and with a couple of clicks under each corner, my ER gurney instantly transforms into a race car. Flying down the hall at top speed, I notice I'm still the only patient in ER. Apparently, I was right, people in this town really do love football. I can just picture Johnny Tool-belt sitting at home with a rag on his hand (his index finger in a bowl of ice), just waiting for the game to end so he can have it re-attached. The elevator smelled like a machine shop; between that and the vertigo from pulling negative G's (turbo elevator?)I hurl. And cry.
All the cardiac patients on my floor, I notice as we cruise by rooms at a cool 20 MPH, are at least 150 years older than me and I couldn't help but think I might be in some real trouble here. We arrive at my room (I almost slide off the end of my race car from the abrupt stop)and my husband notes that it's nicer than some hotels he's stayed in back east. And it is a nice, private room with my own bath, two (TWO) flat screen TV's and a couch that makes into a bed (yay! sleepover!). My new nurse tucks me in, because I'm freezing, and hits my IV with three vials of god-knows-what. As I start to loose consciousness, I do remember saying, "so, I guess I'll see you guys later," and it's fade-to-black.
Three hours later...
I wake up in a strange dark room that smells faintly of disinfectant and death (I guess that's me I'm smelling). I have many tubes and wires and monitors and my very own cacophony of beeps. My husband is worrying at me from across the room; he looks like he's been crying.
"What's the score?"
"It's 3am. Game's over"
"Oh. Who won?"
"Do you really care? Because I don't know. Want me to look?"
"No."
My nurse comes back (Valerie. Her name is Valerie and she's so sweet); she tells me she has some medicine to make me feel a little better and explains that the doctors are treating me with drugs to reduce the fluid on my heart and lungs. If that doesn't work they will stab me in the heart
Pulp Fiction style and remove the fluid that way (yippee). Valerie injects the new meds (turns out this particular drug is called Liquid Satan, TM) into my IV and my hand, followed by arm, followed by shoulder and chest, followed by face followed, by brain spontaneously convulse into cramps and my whole body bursts into (proverbial) flames. I shriek. I wail. I cry out for my mom (who doesn't even know I'm in the hospital and won't for at least another 18 hours or so). I attempt to flee in a madness of fiery pain and agony. I'm vaguely aware that Valarie has called for help to hold me down and that all my little beep beep beeps were now WONK WONK WONKs. Every machine attached to me is screaming, as am I. I am dying. Really and truly dying. This is it for me. Good night and good luck!
Alas. I did not die. If I had, this blog would probably have a few more readers. Especially since this entry would technically be posthumous. I digress. I'm not dead and really wasn't as close to dying as I though. I'm told however, my heart rate sky-rocketed to 206 and my BP fell off the radar almost completely. Apparently, I had a very nasty reaction to the devil piss they injected into my veins. Oh well. We'll be adding that to the list of crap I'm allergic to. On the bright side, it's morphine time! So, I guess I'll see you guys later...
When I wake up, I notice my husband looks as bad as me so I send him home to rest (with some convincing). He had to go to work the next day or loose his job. He's too tired to argue so he kisses me (I think he's been crying again)and stumbles out of the room. It's at this point, I remember it is (was) Superbowl Sunday and I can't for the life of me remember who played. Movement catches my eye on dark side of my room, it's Valarie. My nurse is watching me in the dark and smiles. She comes over and brushes my hair out of my eyes, asks me how I'm feeling, asks me if I want to call my mom. I told her, "no," that she'd be on a plane before the phone stopped ringing. I'd promised to call her tomorrow when I was feeling better so I didn't scare the bejeezus out of her. (She was still recovering from her own heart troubles)
My next morphine shot makes me bat-shit crazy. As soon as it hit me I was a blundering monkey-person with no control over body movement or speech. Val asks me when I ate last and I say that I can't remember, but the words come out sounding like "blah jinger tootie ffffllllllppppttttt". Valarie gives me a sugar-infused Popsicle and pours grape juice down my gullet; I'm instantly cured of my aphasia. "TV?" she says. "Uh-huh" I says back. She shows me how my combination bed control, call button, TV remote works and says to call her if I need anything. I say something like, "thank you, Mommie" and she touches my head once more and smiles at me.
I do not sleep for the next 20 hours. I can't. Can not. I don't know why, but I can't sleep at all and I'm so tired. So I watch TV. For 20 hours. Straight. My attention is turned back to the Superbowl and I slowly start to put together exactly what happened. Here's what I gather: the powers that be in Dallas hired Christina Aguilera to sing the National Anthem but forgot to get her a teleprompter, planned a multi-million dollar halftime show without performing a sound check, and forgot to repair the 1,100 sold seats that were damaged in the 3/4 inch Dallas blizzard. Well played Dallas, well played.
Sun comes up: still can't sleep. Stupid, stupid liquid diet is making me sick. I'm told I need to call for assistance before using the bathroom. Nah-nah-not likely. After my third trip alone without killing myself, they let me be concerning bathroom necessities. I had the pleasure of seeing my heart on an ultrasound; neat and gross. Noon. Can't sleep. More drugs. More gross liquid foods. The only item on my menu I can even stand at this point is red jello. My last liquid diet meal consisted of nothing but five red jello's. I convince my respiratory doc to convince my cardiac doc that I needed solid food to live. They obliged and my next meal was considerably less sucky. 2pm and still can't sleep but I'm feeling better.
My husband then returned, looking more haggard than when he left the night before. He brought my book bag, laptop, clean clothes and the scarey, scarey dinosaur toy that makes me laugh (courtesy of my BFF's five-year-old). Josh helped me email my college instructors, to let them know what was going on so I could get my assignments. He even took all the homework, that was due Monday and Tuesday, to my school for me. Love him.
By Monday night, I was feeling well enough to let my parents know where I was and why. And I was very proud of Mom, she didn't freak out. About 9pm I finally slept and awoke feeling a little better. TV, drugs, eat, sleep, go to bathroom, repeat.
Tuesday evening the doctors were talking about keeping me through the week, possibly until Saturday or Sunday. After another major meltdown, I decided this would just not do. Not even a little. Crying and saying Iwannagohomerightnow was not having the positive effect I'd hoped for. I needed to get out of there for more reasons than one. I was going to go crazy if I stayed in there much longer and I had two exams on Thursday that I didn't want to miss. I started refusing morphine and I got out of bed and walked around my room until I couldn't walk anymore. I sat in my chair, got up to walk, laid in my bed, got up to walk, repeat.
Wednesday morning, I had a second ultrasound on my heart. I told the tech doing the test there was an extra hundred in it for her if she made me look good on camera. She winked and said she'd do her best. After the shift change my favorite day nurse Becky came in to check on me. I asked her to do what she could do to spring me today; she said she would. I also had my first and only visitor (Rindy) besides my husband that morning and was brightened a bit more still. I'm getting out of here; I know I'm getting out today.
"You're getting out today!" My cardiac doc came in at about 3pm to give me the good news: not only am I going home, but all the fluid from my heart is gone. Just gone. Can't even see it on the ultrasound. She said as long as I take it easy, I'll make a full recovery (yay). She hugs me, I cry again.
I sign papers, get my scripts, discharge instructions, pack my things, and wait for my wheelchair ride (I hope it's less exciting than the first one) which should be coming any minute. Hubby is waiting downstairs with the truck. I am pumped. I wait. 15 minutes. 20 minutes. 30 mi'... oh common! My nurse walks in and says "you're still here? I've called downstairs twice to send someone for you. What the hell? I'll be right back." I assure her that I'm not going anywhere. Josh calls, he says five people have been wheeled out since he parked at the curb. Must be national discharge day. My nurse comes back in and grabs my hand. "Let's go. We're walking you outta here".(yay)
I almost passed out before we reached the main entrance; it's a big-ass hospital. I now know why it's hospital policy to escort patients being discharged in a wheelchair. I should have done more rehab while locked up in the joint. Huff. Puff. I eventually make it to the ground floor, where my chariot awaits.
Though my body and mind had recently been to hell and back, I noticed something peculiar as we left the parking lot. The name of the hospital and the signage had changed since Sunday; I had entered Clarion-Arnett Hospital but departed from IU Health. There were red-and-white pitchforks everywhere! I asked Josh, "how long was I in there?"
That's my Superbowl story. Hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I didn't enjoy experiencing it. Also hoping that next year's Superbowl in Indy will be more organized, better staffed and all-n-all less wrought with suck.